Omega Pocket 1966

   

Things don’t change a lot when you’re on a good thing.  This 1966 Omega pocket watch is a liitle slimmer and the case is more rounded and stylish than the more boxy 1947 predosesor that I have.  Prima faci, the old 38.5 calibre and this newer 161 calibre look the same but they are not. I can’t pick a technological advantage one over the other.  In fact the same  thechnology can be found in watches of the late 1800’s.  Like I said, why change a good thing.  

This is a former NSW Government railway watch (N.S.W.G.R printed on dial) with a GR 12006 engraved on the back.  The enamel dial is in perfect original condition with a slightly suncken sub second hand.  The numbers are so stylish as are the blue gunmetal hands.  I brought this for $100, replaced the glass, polished up the case, had the movement overhauled and the brocken balance staff replaced.  I love this watch

About robswatches

I’m a horoligical “petrol head”! I love classical mechanical watches, not because they tell me the time, I can get the time from cheap quartz watches, my computer, phone, microwave or just about anywhere. I’m interested in the movements of watches, the aesthetics of case design and their construction, the history and the simple thrill of watching tiny, beautifully finished wheels, pinions and other parts turning and oscillating and marvelling at the craftsmanship that created it.
This entry was posted in Omega, Pocket Watch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Omega Pocket 1966

  1. Thomas says:

    Hi Rob,
    I have a watch very similar to this- and was hoping to find out a bit more about it. It has exactly the same movement, but the case is gold. The inside of the case has a mark saying “Omega watch co” made in england- I didn’t know omega made cases in England…
    Anyway- if you had any further insight I’d be very pleased to hear it!
    Thanks,
    Thomas

  2. robswatches says:

    Hello Thomas, Yes, cases were made in England for many Swiss brands. I can tell you a lot about this watch if you can provide clear photos of the the case, binside and out and the movement. Tell me what the calibre no. is – loicated under the balance, the serial no. which is stamped on the plate and what is inscribed inside the case back, hallmarks if any.
    Cheers
    Rob

  3. Sean says:

    Hi Rob,

    I have seen many Omega NSWGR watches are there is a lot of info about them online, however I have a NSWGR Revue watch which I can find nothing about and I’m really interested to find some info about it. The face has NSWGR above the Revue symbol and name on the back of the case it has engrave L13310.
    If you have any info about this watch it’d be appreciated.

    Thankyou Sean

    • robswatches says:

      Sean, Thanks for your message. I don’t know a lot about the railways. Revue was a quality pocket watch that would have rivaled Omega in its day. The L in the number stands for Locomotive, I believe. Good find I reckon.

  4. Jim Daisley says:

    HI Rob I all so have a similar watch,serial number 23196267 what interested me is my number on back case is GR 12008 . any info would be great thanks . as I have just started collecting railway watches. Jim.

    • robswatches says:

      Hello Jim, I don’t know a lot the Railways. Are you talking about Australia? GR, I presume means Government Railway. The NSW GR watches that I’ve seen have the dial overwritten as well. The serial numbers tells us it’s a 1966. Good find.
      Cheers
      Rob

Leave a Reply

