Omega manual wind 1970

 

 

This one was a trade in before I realised that too many classics where passing me by unrecognised. And it was this watch’s beauty that made me stop and think.  To me this is a beautiful style from 1970, just before watches became ridiculously bulky. This, caliber 613, must be one of the last manual men’s movements that Omega produced and has that typical superb gold plated finish that makes me an Omega fan.

About robswatches

I’m a horoligical “petrol head”! I love classical mechanical watches, not because they tell me the time, I can get the time from cheap quartz watches, my computer, phone, microwave or just about anywhere. I’m interested in the movements of watches, the aesthetics of case design and their construction, the history and the simple thrill of watching tiny, beautifully finished wheels, pinions and other parts turning and oscillating and marvelling at the craftsmanship that created it.
This entry was posted in Omega and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Omega manual wind 1970

  1. stefano says:

    Hi, I have a Geneve with the same movement. It has blue indices. I like it a lot. The case back says waterproof, but as I went for a bike ride on a sunny hot day the crystal fogged up (only for a couple of hours). I am wondering if there should be a gasket / o ring under the caseback.

    great informative blog!

    • robswatches says:

      Thanks Stefano,
      If the glass fogged up, then moisture has entered your watch. Your Geneve would be water resistant to about 30m pressure if well maintained. After 40 plus years, it is very likely that the moisture entered through the winding crown (a manual watch is wound every day and therefore the seal in the crown will wear). I suggest you take it to a reputable watchmaker and have it serviced and, if I am right and the crown needs replacing, keep the authenticity of this classic by insisting on original parts. If you live Australia, then you can send it to me.
      Hope this has helped.

Leave a Reply

