Omega 1938

When this watch was produced, in 1938, not much had progressed in the previous 20 years and, with the war imminent, not much progress was going to be made for the next 20 years either. I qualify that by saying that the automatic wind had already been introduced (Harwood in 1928) and the incabloc shock protection system was invented in 1934 but neither of these innovations where commercial at the time.
I also don’t think that Omega was yet the stand out name that it was destined to become.
So how would you promote a watch such as this?
Like all watches of its time it was so fragile it had to be removed from the wrist when doing just about anything, kept a mile away from dust, not to mention moisture and the styling is very ordinary.
On the positive side, it has very nicely shaped hands and it has state of the art radium numbers and hands, meaning it is luminous and so radio active that the wearer will glow in the dark as well!
This is my oldest Omega and was given to me by a colleague when he heard that I was a collector.

About robswatches

I’m a horoligical “petrol head”! I love classical mechanical watches, not because they tell me the time, I can get the time from cheap quartz watches, my computer, phone, microwave or just about anywhere. I’m interested in the movements of watches, the aesthetics of case design and their construction, the history and the simple thrill of watching tiny, beautifully finished wheels, pinions and other parts turning and oscillating and marvelling at the craftsmanship that created it.
This entry was posted in Omega and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

