Unicorn early 70’s

There are several reasons why I might seek a watch for my collection. It may be rare or exceptional quality, it may be sentimental, it may be none of the above but a classic, it may be attractive or perhaps just unusual or it may be exceptionally ugly. No guessing which category this fits.
Unicorn was just an ordinary watch from the 50’s through to the 70’s that used standard ebauche movements. This example from the early 70’s has a nice AS2060 and signed (luckily, otherwise I don’t think I would have included it). Apart from that, it’s just plain ugly.

About robswatches

I’m a horoligical “petrol head”! I love classical mechanical watches, not because they tell me the time, I can get the time from cheap quartz watches, my computer, phone, microwave or just about anywhere. I’m interested in the movements of watches, the aesthetics of case design and their construction, the history and the simple thrill of watching tiny, beautifully finished wheels, pinions and other parts turning and oscillating and marvelling at the craftsmanship that created it.
This entry was posted in Unicorn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

