Tag Heuer Auto Chrono 1995c

  

This is a beautiful watch, a three-register chronograph (seconds, minutes and hours) with date, classic Tag Heuer styling, typically sporting with a distinctive dial and hands colour. I’ve had this watch for about a year and it gets a good amount of wrist time (It’s cool to wear a Tag).  It’s typically Tag tough in every way and is one of the few mechanical chronographs available. I haven’t been able to date it but I think it’s about mid 90’s. The movement is the long serving (since 1977) and not too well finished Valjoux 7750 Automatic wind chronograph.

I have never been a big Heuer fan (remember that Tag Heuer came into existence in 1985 when turbocharger manufacturer TAG purchased Heuer). In their long history, Heuer have produced a few timers and some rather ordinary stopwatch movements but little else. Their classic chronographs used Ebauche movements like Valjoux; not a good pedigree I think.

One of Heuer’s greatest claims to fame was that they collaborated with Breitling, Hamilton and Buren to develop, what they claim, was the world’s first automatic chronograph in 1969. This is disputed by Zenith/Movado and Seiko. 

Despite this, in recent times, Tag Heuer has become one of the most desirable watch brands, at least in my part of the world. Aimed squarely at the sports market, I think the success of this brand is the image of virtually indestructibility that they have established through brilliant marketing; over the decades of sponsoring motor racing, having celebrities like F1 racers and Steve McQueen wear the brand etc. 

This is a great, tough, well made watch in the traditional sense and has a special place in my collection.

About robswatches

I’m a horoligical “petrol head”! I love classical mechanical watches, not because they tell me the time, I can get the time from cheap quartz watches, my computer, phone, microwave or just about anywhere. I’m interested in the movements of watches, the aesthetics of case design and their construction, the history and the simple thrill of watching tiny, beautifully finished wheels, pinions and other parts turning and oscillating and marvelling at the craftsmanship that created it.
This entry was posted in Chronograph, Tag Heuer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

