Bulova Chronograph 2006

  

In 2007 my retail business became Bulova agents and I chose this watch for myself to wear. I have a lot of personal watches but at any one time I have five in the bedroom from which I choose to wear on the day (I have five dayly wearers because I have a nice box in my bedroom that holds 5 watches). When I get sick of one it goes back into the collection and I look for another to replace it. So after 4 years, I look in my special box and, probably breaking the record, my Bulova Chronograph is still there.

This one uses the ETA 251-282 movement, three register chronograph with a dedicated seconds hand, and split time hand. In all this watch has 7 hands, 4 operating from the centre.

This is a special watch endorsed and signed by 2nd man on the moon Buzz Aldrin. This is to publicise Bulova’s involvement with NASA. Bulova has always been in the shadow of Omega when it comes to being associated with space exploration. Omega was the official astronauts watch and when Armstrong took his small step for man he was wearing an Omega Speedmaster. Buzz Aldrin did not, because his Speedmaster was left back in the module. But Bulova played a huge part in providing the vital accurate official timing for the entire project through it’s state of the art, Accutron technology. 

This watch is big and tough, it has a solid good feeling integrated bracelet, a nice, big screw down crown and a sapphire crystal that after the extensive wearing I’ve given this beauty, is still unmarked.

About robswatches

I’m a horoligical “petrol head”! I love classical mechanical watches, not because they tell me the time, I can get the time from cheap quartz watches, my computer, phone, microwave or just about anywhere. I’m interested in the movements of watches, the aesthetics of case design and their construction, the history and the simple thrill of watching tiny, beautifully finished wheels, pinions and other parts turning and oscillating and marvelling at the craftsmanship that created it.
This entry was posted in Bulova, Chronograph and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bulova Chronograph 2006

  1. Hi – great blog!

    My understanding is that Buzz Aldrin was the first person to wear an OMEGA Speedmaster on the Moon. Neil Armstrong had left his aboard the Lunar Module as a reliable backup for the craft’s electronic timekeeping system.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

