Seiko Chronograph 1973

This is as basic as the Seiko chronos got. The movements did not vary at all, the 6139A was superseded by the 6139B sometime in the early 70s with some minor technical changes under the dial but the only difference in the many models that Seiko produced was only in the cases. This one has no bezel, no tachymeter scale only a chapter ring that is part of the dial.  It’s also one of the few Seikos of this era with a perspex rather than a crystal glass. So I presume it was the base model.

But, as I said, the functions are the same for all; two register chronograph, day, date and auto wind. I find the two-tone blue a pleasant colour scheme and it was a popular model. 

About robswatches

I’m a horoligical “petrol head”! I love classical mechanical watches, not because they tell me the time, I can get the time from cheap quartz watches, my computer, phone, microwave or just about anywhere. I’m interested in the movements of watches, the aesthetics of case design and their construction, the history and the simple thrill of watching tiny, beautifully finished wheels, pinions and other parts turning and oscillating and marvelling at the craftsmanship that created it.
This entry was posted in Chronograph, Seiko and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

