Restoration Seiko Chronograph Part 2

I managed to get all the parts I needed to complete the restoration. So, firstly, I disassembled the case.

??????????

??????????Then the movement was disassembled. There are some components that are left assembled, the balance assembly, the mainspring is left in its barrel, parts on the three plates. It’s not necessary to pull those down and I mention it only to say that there are more parts to this watch than what you see in the pictures.

??????????

Then the movement and all the components are placed in the cleaning machine baskets for cleaning. The movement is then re-assembled and oiled. Surprising, all parts where fine, nothing needed replacing.

DSCN7259  DSCN7258

Restoring the bracelet was a chore because of deep scratches. Restoring the two tone, brushed and polished, components meant tending to each component individualy. Here I first file out the scratches, one link at a time and then use two different wheels on the buff to get the desired finish on each individual component of the links.

      DSCN7261  ??????????

The same with the case, certain surfaces are polished, others brushed.

??????????DSCN7265

  

 

 

Some surfaces where better attended to with a smaller wheel attached to a hand held flexi shaft.  The O rings on the pushers and crown needed replacing as did the back seal but the glass seal was in perfect condition.

I couldn’t get original shaped hands but the hands had to be replaced. The hands I used were the best I could do but the result is pleasing and only the purist would notice.
The case was re-assembled, including a new glass, the movement fitted and………….

DSCN7278

………The finished job!  Notice the two tone finish on the bracelet (that took a lot of work) Not bad if I say so myself.

About robswatches

I’m a horoligical “petrol head”! I love classical mechanical watches, not because they tell me the time, I can get the time from cheap quartz watches, my computer, phone, microwave or just about anywhere. I’m interested in the movements of watches, the aesthetics of case design and their construction, the history and the simple thrill of watching tiny, beautifully finished wheels, pinions and other parts turning and oscillating and marvelling at the craftsmanship that created it.
This entry was posted in Chronograph, Restoration Project, Seiko and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

