TAG Heuer Professional 1992

My 100th Post!

This is my 100th post! and, even though I have watches that I think are much finer than this one, it is fitting that I should review a beauty that is, by all accounts, a favorite with Barak Obama.  And if it’s good enough for him, it’s good enough for me.

??????????That’s correct, Barak Obama wears a TAG Heuer, very similar to the one that I have here in my collection.

Over the last 25 years or so, this brand has developed a massive reputation amongst the sports watch buying public. Now, it is possibly the most desirable brand at the affordable end of the market.

This is the result of a decree put down in 1982 by the then newly named manufacturer (around the time Heuer was being purchased by turbo charge manufacturer Techniques d’Avant Garde “TAG”)

This decree was a six feature philosophy, each watch would feature:

  • Water Resistance to 200m
  • Screw Down Crown
  • Double Safety Clasp
  • Unidirectional Bezel
  • Sapphire Crystal
  • Luminous Markings

I remember the advertising slogan “Won’t crack under pressure”….Brilliant!

The positive aspect of the Six Features philosophy was that it clearly established TAG Heuer as a leading modern sports watch brand, as each watch had the full list of features that buyers expected from watches in this category. Just as in the Heuer days, the new philosophy was backed by sports sponsorship and by selecting brand ambassadors, almost always from the sporting world.

The downside was that all models looked very similar. To go up from the entry level you had to go chronograph or mechanical or both.

The Professional series of the 90’s was the entry level, with all the features. It also had the “trademark” “Mercedes, gun sight” hour hand which was also a feature across the range at the time.

Most of the dials were silver in colour. This dial is also silver but it has a granite like iridescent finish that makes it quite distinctive. Another interesting thing about the typical TAG Heuer dials is the combination of circular and rectangular baton hour markers as seen here.

Not much to say about the movement, a standard, Swiss made ETA 955.112 signed TAG Hewer 3.92

tag-heuer-barack-obamaI have seen photographs of Barak Obama wearing other watches but his vintage TAG Heuer Professional seems to make the most frequent appearance so I presume that it is his favorite.

I have four TAGs in my Collection including a self winding chronograph version of this model and that is the one that wins the most wrist time with me.

But, if I ever get to meet Barak Obama, I will be wearing the TAG Heuer Professional reviewed here, leaving him in no doubt that we are brothers in watches.

About robswatches

I’m a horoligical “petrol head”! I love classical mechanical watches, not because they tell me the time, I can get the time from cheap quartz watches, my computer, phone, microwave or just about anywhere. I’m interested in the movements of watches, the aesthetics of case design and their construction, the history and the simple thrill of watching tiny, beautifully finished wheels, pinions and other parts turning and oscillating and marvelling at the craftsmanship that created it.
This entry was posted in Tag Heuer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

